Home

Announcements

Activity Schedule  
           
Date Technology Library P.E. Music ART
Tues- Aug 15 Dis@12:00     3B 3C 3A
Wed- Aug 16 Dis@12:00 3B 3A     3C
Thurs- Aug 17 3C 3B 3A    
Fri-     Aug 18 3A 3C 3B    
Mon- Aug 21 3B 3A 3C    
Tues- Aug 22 3C     3A 3B
Wed- Aug 23 3A 3C 3B    
Thurs- Aug 24 3B 3A 3C    
Fri-     Aug 25 3C 3B 3A    
Mon- Aug 28 3A 3C 3B    
Tues- Aug 29     3C 3B 3A
Wed- Aug 30   3B 3A   3C
Thurs- Aug 31 3A 3C 3B    
Fri-     Sept 1 3B 3A 3C    
Mon- Sept 4No School 3C 3B 3A    
Tues- Sept 5   3C   3A 3B
Wed- Sept 6 3B 3A 3C    
Thurs- Sept 7 3C 3B 3A    
Fri-     Sept 8 3A 3C 3B    
Mon- Sept 11 3B 3A 3C    
Tues- Sept 12 3C     3B 3A
Wed- Sept 13 3A   3B   3C
Thurs- Sept 14 3B 3A 3C    
Fri-     Sept 15 3C 3B 3A    
Mon- Sept 18 3A 3C 3B    
Tues- Sept 19   3A   3C 3B
Wed- Sept 20 3C 3B 3A    
Thurs- Sept 21 3A 3C 3B    
Fri-     Sept 22 3B 3A 3C    
Mon- Sept 25 3C 3B 3A    
Tues- Sept 26   3C   3B 3A
Wed- Sept 27 3B 3A     3C
Thurs- Sept 28 3C 3B 3A    
Fri-     Sept 29 3A 3C 3B    
Mon- Oct  2 3B 3A 3C    
Tues- Oct 3 3C     3A 3B
Wed- Oct 4 3A 3C 3B    
Thurs- Oct 5 3B 3A 3C    
Fri-     Oct 6 3C 3B 3A    
Mon- Oct 9 Dis@12:00 3A 3C 3B    
Tues- Oct 10 3B     3C 3A
Wed- Oct 11   3B 3A   3C
Thurs- Oct 12 3A 3C 3B    
Fri-     Oct 13 3B 3A 3C    
Mon- Oct 16 3C 3B 3A    
Tues- Oct 17   3C   3A 3B
Wed- Oct 18 3B 3A 3C    
Thurs- Oct 19 3C 3B 3A    
Fri-     Oct 20 3A 3C 3B    
Mon- Oct 23 3B 3A 3C    
Tues- Oct 24 3C     3B 3A
Wed- Oct 25 3A   3B   3C
Thurs- Oct 26 3B 3A 3C    
Fri-     Oct 27 3C 3B 3A    
Mon- Oct 30 3A 3C 3B    
Tues- Oct 31   3A   3C 3B
Wed- Nov 1 3C 3B 3A    
Thurs- Nov 2 3A 3C 3B    
Fri-     Nov 3 3B 3A 3C    
Mon- Nov 6 3C 3B 3A    
Tues- Nov 7 No School          
Wed -Nov 8   3C 3B   3A
Thurs- Nov 9 3B 3A 3C    
Fri-     Nov 10 3C 3B 3A    
Mon- Nov 13 3A 3C 3B    
Tues- Nov 14 3B     3A 3C
Wed- Nov 15 3C 3B 3A    
Thurs- Nov 16 3A 3C 3B    
Fri-     Nov 17 3B 3A 3C    
Mon- Nov 20 3C 3B 3A    
Tues- Nov 21 3A     3C 3B
Wed- Nov 22 No School          
Thurs- Nov 23 No School          
Fri-     Nov 24 No School          
Mon- Nov 27 3B 3A 3C    
Tues- Nov 28 3C     3B 3A
Wed- Nov 29 3A 3C 3B    
Thurs- Nov 30 3B 3A 3C    
Fri-     Dec 1 3C 3B 3A    
Mon- Dec 4 3A 3C 3B    
Tues- Dec 5 3B     3A 3C
Wed- Dec 6 3C   3A   3B
Thurs- Dec 7 3A 3C 3B    
Fri -    Dec 8 3B 3A 3C    
Mon- Dec 11 3C 3B 3A    
Tues- Dec 12     3B 3C 3A
Wed- Dec 13 3B 3A 3C    
Thurs- Dec 14 3C 3B 3A    
Fri-     Dec 15 3A 3C 3B    
Mon- Dec 18 3B 3A 3C    
Tues- Dec 19   3B 3A 3A 3C
Wed- Dec 20 3A 3C     3B
Thurs- Dec 21 3B 3A 3C    
Fri-     Dec 22 No School          
Mon- Dec 25 No School          
Tues- Dec 26 No School          
Wed- Dec 27 No School          
Thurs- Dec 28 No School          
Fri-     Dec 29 No School          
Mon- Jan 1    No School          
Tues- Jan 2   No School          
Wed- Jan 3 3C 3B     3A
Thurs- Jan 4 3A 3C 3B    
Fri-     Jan 5 3B 3A 3C    
Mon- Jan 8 3C 3B

Welcome Back!  

Welcome to a brand new year! I hope everyone has enjoyed their summer vacation. I'm excited to begin this year. If you have any questions, you may email me at vanessa.justus@buchanancountyschools.com  or call the school to set up an appointment to see me during my planning period which is 10:00-10:50.

 


SOL review  

Here are a list of terms to help prepare for the SOL test. Your child has received a copy of these words. We will have quizzes on words in class.

Reading Terms

 

1.     fiction – stories about characters and events that are not real

2.    nonfiction – writing that is not fiction, included information about real things, people and events.

3.    fairy tale – a children’s story about magic, fairies, giants, witches, etc. Usually begins with “once upon a time” and ends with “happily ever after”

4.    fable – a story that teachers a lesson. Fables often have animal characters that talk and act like people

5.    biography – a book that tells someone’s life story

6.    autobiography – a book in which the author tells the story of his or her own life

7.    thesaurus- a book containing lists of synonyms and antonyms

8.    encyclopedia – a book or set of books with information about many different subjects, usually arranged in alphabetical order

9.    dictionary – a book that explains the meanings of words

10.  glossary – found at the end of a book. A glossary gives the meanings of words found in a particular txt.

11.   atlas – a book of maps

12.  guide words – one of the words at the top of a page in a dictionary/glossary that shows the part of the alphabet included on that page

13.  synonym – a word that means the same or nearly the same as a another word

14.  antonym – a word that means the opposite of another word

15.  compound word – two words put together to make a new word (Ex. baseball; doghouse)

16.  contractions – two words combined with an apostrophe, such as can’t, wouldn’t, I’m, won’t

17.  homophones – one of two or more words that have the same pronunciation but different spellings and different meanings (Ex. too, two, to; whole/hole)

18.  root word (base word) – the word before the prefix or suffix have been added

19.  prefix – a word part added to the beginning of a word to change the meaning (ex. un-, re-, dis-)

20. suffix – a syllable or syllables added to the end of a word that changes its meaning (ex. –less, -ly, -y)

21.  table of contents – found at the front of a book; gives the reader information such as the page number of certain chapters, stories, etc.

22. index – found at the back of a book; an alphabetical list that shows you where to find things in a book

23. flow chart – a diagram that shows how something progresses, step by step

24. Venn diagram – a diagram that shows how things are alike and different

25. possessives – form of a noun or pronoun that shows ownership (ex. Tom’s hat)


Address